Individual Decision

Title of Report:	Appointment of Local Authority Governors			
Report to be considered by:	Cllr. Graham Pask		on:	Thursday 9th February 2006
Forward Plan Ref:	ID1102			
Purpose of Report:		To consider the appointment of Local Authority governors where a term of office has expired or where there is a vacancy.		
Recommended Action:		To appoint the nominated governors.		
Reason for decision to be taken:		To fill vacancies on governing bodies		
List of other options considered:		To refuse appointment of nominees.		
Key background documentation:		Individual nomination forms		
		Portfolio Member:	Councillo	r Graham Pask
		Tel. No.:	01635 86	4023
		E-mail Address:	gpask@w	/estberks.gov.uk
Contact Officer Details				
		Name:	Rosie Bas	SS
		Job Title:	School ar	nd Governor Support Officer
		Tel. No.:	01635 51	9739

E-mail Address:

rbass@westberks.gov.uk

Supporting Information

1. Background

The Council, as a Local Authority (LA), has a duty to appoint a specified number of LA governors to the governing body of each maintained school. The following schools have nominations to fill vacancies on their governing bodies:

Brookfields Special School, Tilehurst Calcot Infant School Kennet Valley Primary School

The term of office is for four years. Where a governor leaves during the term of office, the new governor will be appointed for a four year term of office running from the date of appointment. Existing governors are asked if they wish to continue for a further term of office.

Appendices

Nomination forms

Appendix 1: Criteria for appointment of LA governors (excluding those schools in special measures) Appendix 2: Legal Requirements (Copies of these Appendices can be obtained from David Cook – Tel: 01635 519475)

Implications

Policy:	Under the governing body's Instrument of Government it is a requirement to have, within its membership, a number of LA governors. This enables governing bodies to have representatives reflecting the wider interests of the community.	
Financial:	N/A	
Personnel:	N/A	
Legal:	N/A	
Environmental:	N/A	
Equalities:	N/A	
Partnering:	N/A	
Property:	N/A	
Risk Management:	N/A	
Community Safety:	N/A	
Consultation Responses		
Members:		
Leader of Council:	Cllr. Graham Jones	
Select Committee Chairmen:	Cllr. Jeffrey Brooks	

P&L Committee Chairman (where appropriate):	N/A
Ward Members:	For Brookfields School:
	Cllr. John Chapman
	Cllr. Timothy Metcalfe
	For Calcot Infants School and Kennet Valley Primary School:
	Cllr. Peter Argyle
	Cllr. Brian Bedwell
	Cllr. Manohar Gopal
Opposition Spokesperson:	Cllr. Sally Hannon
Advisory Members:	N/A
Local Stakeholders:	N/A
Officers Consulted:	N/A
Trade Union:	N/A